“You are the first since the Big Bang to write a master thesis about content strategy”

Posted on Posted in Experts & Opinions

The masters programme Content Strategy at FH Joanneum in Graz is – according to head of the programme Heinz Wittenbrink – the first academic education worldwide that focuses on Content Strategy. Reason enough for me to take a little trip to Graz to find out more about the programme.

Bright sunshine on a saturday at the end of april in Graz – while others are enjoying the beautiful weather, the students of FH Joanneum are heading for the classroom. An attendance weekend is on the agenda of the masters programme. But I am more interested in the past, especially the year 2011. How did the idea of a academic programme with emphasis on content strategy come about?

How the idea was born

Heinz Wittenbrink, head and founder of the programme, tells me that at the beginning there was the Web Literacy Web. This research project explores and developes media competences in organisations. Through this project he was made aware of a book about content strategy written by Erin Kissane, that fitted exactly his conceptions of a forward-looking use of the world wide web for organisations. From this point forward it took another three years until the programme finally started in the autumn of 2014.

Core Contents

According to Heinz Wittenbrink, the core contents of the programme are very much stamped by the anglo-american understanding of content strategy. The cyclic structure recreates the daily business of a content strategist:

  1. Analysis of existing contents, user needs, stakeholders and monitoring
  2. Strategy development: content modelling and message architecture
  3. Content marketing and community building
  4. Implementation, governance, workflows, content management systems

Technical requirements, understanding of editorial work and an overview of content strategies are also important skills that are conveyed to the students.

What significance has content marketing in this strategy comprehension?

According to this definition content marketing is a part of the content strategy. The strategy includes more than just marketing – for example service or public relations and intends to solve problems of organisations with content. So content strategy is the underlying plan behind the content.

Science vs practice

The fact, that this programme is so innovative and new also brings some difficulties – for example that this academic field does not (yet) exist. But Wittenbrink is confident that the field will become academic like public relations and journalismus did in the past. This trend can be also recognized in the United States but by reason of finance costs not so easy to establish.

As a result, it is according to Wittenbrink essential for the students of the master programme to publish their master thesis, which the first students will finish soon. When they are made public they become criticizable and this will lead to a scientific discourse which will turn a field of practice into an academic field.

Students

Now there is one thing in particular I want to know: “How satisfied are you with how the progamme has developed?” Because imagination and reality are often two very different pairs of shoes.

But Wittenbrink is satisfied: It’s challenging and risky, but it is great that they are able to run this big project. But of course it is an early stage and the students experience also negative impacts. Many organisational issues are still improvised, but they are happy with the curriculum and the core contents.

One organisational issue is the fact, that the programme is an ectra-occupational education. Which means that many lessons are online-based so students from other parts of Austria and Europe can als study at the FH Joanneum. This idea paid already off, because according to Wittenbrink only half of the students actually live in Graz. The other half lives in other parts of Austria and also more and more German students apply for a study place.

Content strategy in organisations

Wittenbrink considers every company as a media company and because of that every company needs a content strategy. But are the companies aware of this? Wittenbrink replies tersley: No, most of the organisations do not know that they need a content stratgy. Most of them also do not know the difference between content marketing and content strategy.

A content strategist is just as important as an architect, if I want to build a house.

He states the view that content has to come from the company itself, but necessary processes and structures for that are not existing and that is the biggest problem at the moment. The quality of the content also depends to a large extent on how many divisions are working together.

This requires restructuring within the organisations which can only be carried out very slowly. But according to Wittenbrink there is already a growing awareness existing in technology businesses  and innovative organisations – rather than in brand or media companies.

This is also striking in the master thesis of the students, where they document a content strategy project in their respective companies where they are working. Many are supported in their intentions, while others have a harder time carrying out their project.

                                    

© FH JOANNEUM / Stefan Leitner
© FH JOANNEUM / Stefan Leitner

About Heinz Wittebrink

Since 2004 Heinz Wittenbrink teaches at the FH Joanneum and founded in 2014 the masters programme Content Strategy. Bevor that he worked for various publishing houses, mostly as an editor for encyclopedias. He concentrated early on digital publications – first CDs than web and he published also books about markup-languages.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

„Ihr seid die ersten seit dem Urknall, die eine Content Strategie-Masterarbeit schreiben“

Veröffentlicht am Veröffentlicht in Experts & Opinions

Der Studiengang Content Strategie / Content Strategy an der FH Joanneum ist laut Studiengangsleiter Heinz Wittenbrink die weltweit erste akademische Ausbildung im Bereich Content Strategie. Grund genug für mich eine kleine Reise nach Graz zu machen, um aus erster Hand mehr darüber zu erfahren.

Strahlender Sonnenschein an einem Samstag Ende April in Graz – während andere sich die Sonne auf die Nase scheinen lassen, büffeln die Studenten der FH Joanneum. Der Studiengang Content Strategie hat nämlich Präsenzwochenende. Doch mich interessiert als erstes die Vergangenheit, insbesondere das Jahr 2011: Wie entstand denn damals die Idee zu einem Studium mit Hauptaugenmerk auf Content Strategie?

Entstehung der Idee

Heinz Wittenbrink – seines Zeichens Studiengangsleiter und Gründer des Content Strategie Masterlehrgangs – erzählt mir, dass am Anfang das Web Literacy Lab stand. Dieses Forschungsprojekt widmet sich damals wie heute der Erforschung und Weiterentwicklung von digitalen Medienkompetenzen in Unternehmen. Im Zuge dessen wurde er auf ein Buch über Content Strategie von Erin Kissane aufmerksam gemacht, was genau seinen Vorstellungen eines zukunftsweisenden Umgangs von Unternehmen mit dem World Wide Web entsprach. Von diesem Zeitpunkt bis zum tatsächlichen Start des Studiengangs vergingen noch einmal drei Jahre und im Herbst 2014 begannen die ersten Studenten ihr Studium der Content Strategie.

Inhalte

Laut Heinz Wittenbrink sind die Inhalte, die im Studiengang vermittelt werden, sehr vom angloamerikanischen Verständnis der Content Strategy geprägt. Der zyklische Aufbau empfindet die Arbeitsweise eines Content Strategen nach:

  1. Analyse vorhandener Inhalte, aber auch von Userbedürfnissen, Stakeholdern und Monitoring
  2. Strategieentwicklung: Botschaftsarchitektur, Inhaltsmodellierung
  3. Content Marketing und Community Building
  4. Implementierung, Governance, Workflows, Content Management Systeme

Aber auch technische Voraussetzungen, redaktionelles Verständnis und ein Überblick über Content Strategien werden den Studierenden vermittelt.

Welchen Stellenwert hat Content Marketing in diesem Strategieverständnis?

Content Marketing ist dieser Definition nach also ein Teil der Content Strategie. Die Strategie umfasst dabei mehr als Marketing – nämlich beispielsweise Service oder PR-Inhalte und hat zum Ziel Probleme eines Unternehmens über Inhalte zu lösen. Sie ist quasi die hinter den Inhalten liegende Planung.

Wissenschaft vs. Praxis

Schwierig für einen so neuartigen Studiengang ist der Umstand, dass noch kein wissenschaftliches Feld vorhanden ist. Wittenbrink ist aber überzeugt, dass sich die Content Strategie akademisiert wie einst die Public Relations oder der Journalismus. Diese Tendenzen seien auch in den USA erkennbar, allerdings Studiengänge aufgrund der Finanzierung schwieriger ins Leben zu rufen.

Daher ist es für die Studierenden des Content Strategie Studiengangs besonders wichtig ihre Masterarbeiten – welche die ersten bald fertig stellen werden – zu publizieren und damit öffentlich kritisierbar zu machen. So entstehe ein wissenschaftlicher Diskurs, der aus einem Praxisfeld eine wissenschaftliche Fachrichtung macht.

Studierende

Nun brennt mir eine heikle Frage auf den Lippen: „Wie zufrieden sind Sie denn damit, wie sich das Ganze entwickelt hat?“ Vorstellung und Realität sind ja oft doch zwei verschiedene Paar Schuhe.

Doch Wittenbrink zeigt sich zufrieden: Die Fallhöhe ist hoch, das Ganze sehr anspruchsvoll, aber es sei toll, dass man dieses große Projekt stemmen kann. Natürlich sei man in einer frühen Phase, worunter vor allem die Studierenden leiden. Vieles ist noch improvisiert, das betreffe aber hauptsächlich organisatorische Dinge, nicht so sehr die Inhalte.

Das Studium wurde nämlich berufsbegleitend aufgebaut und vieles läuft online-basiert, um auch Studierenden ohne Wohnsitz in Graz das Studium zu ermöglichen. Diese Rechnung ging auch auf, laut Wittenbrink sind nur die Hälfte der Studenten aus Graz, der Rest aus anderen Teilen Österreichs und auch deutsche Studenten bewerben sich immer häufiger um einen Platz.

Content Strategy in Unternehmen

Wittenbrink vertritt die Ansicht, dass jedes Unternehmen ein Medien-Unternehmen ist und somit auch jedes Unternehmen einen Content Strategen braucht. Aber sind sich Unternehmen dessen auch bewusst? Dazu Wittenbrink knapp: Nein, die meisten Unternehmen wissen nicht, dass die Notwendigkeit für eine Content Strategie da ist. Den meistens ist auch der Unterschied zu Content Marketing nicht klar.

„Ein Content Stratege ist so notwendig wie ein Architekt, wenn ich ein Gebäude bauen möchte.“

Seiner Meinung nach muss Content aus dem Unternehmen kommen, dafür sind aber keine Prozesse da und daran scheitert es im Moment. Die Qualität des Contents hänge auch stark davon ab, wie viele Unternehmensbereiche dafür zusammenarbeiten. Dieser Umstand mache Umstrukturierungen erforderlich, die sich in den Unternehmen nur langsam umsetzen lassen. In Technologie- und innovativen Unternehmen ist das Bewusstsein über die Notwendigkeit einer Content Strategie aber laut Wittenbrink eher vorhanden als in tradionellen Marken- und Medienunternehmen.

Das fällt auch bei den Masterarbeiten auf, in welchen die Studierenden ein Content Strategy Projekt in den jeweiligen Unternehmen dokumentieren, in denen sie tätig sind. Die meisten werden bei diesen Vorhaben unterstützt, andere hingegen haben es deutlich schwerer.

 

Heinz Wittenbrink
© FH JOANNEUM / Stefan Leitner

Über Heinz Wittenbrink

Bereits seit 2004 lehrt Heinz Wittenbrink an der FH Joanneum und gründete 2014 den Studiengang Content Strategie / Content Strategy. Vorher war er für Verlage tätig, vor allem als Redakteur für Nachschlagewerke. Er konzentrierte sich schon früh auf digitale Publikationen – erst CD-ROMs, dann Web und publizierte auch Bücher über Markup-Sprachen.

Zur englischen Version

 

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.